Blog Entry · Uncategorized

Blog Entry 002: February 20,2017

Last week’s session was a bit more challenging than the one two weeks before. While performing the task, my student was clearly bored and his mind was elsewhere. He did accomplish the tasks I asked him to do, but I needed to call his attention several times in the middle of tasks. I don’t think he found the tasks particularly interesting, but he wasn’t that hard to deal with either. As usual, he was nice enough to me as his teacher. I observed that he was best friends with a fellow student named Denver. When we were done with the tasks, he seemed like he wanted to play, like the other students are teachers were playing, but when I asked him which group we should join, he didn’t really feel like joining others. When he and Denver got together again, they started playing and running around with only the both of them.

He listened relatively to the story I told him and was able to recognize the things that started with the letter “Mm” Sound. He was able to draw his favorite foods and determine whether or not they started with the letter “Mm” sound. I had to guide him with the wordless story-telling because he was having trouble constructing the story. He was able to follow my lead and we finished the story with him recognizing whether the character had a happy or sad emotion.

He didn’t seem that we was interested in learning more of the lesson that the task taught him. He was cooperative enough, but not to the extent that I’d think he’s enthusiastic about what he’s learning. He did what he had to do and that’s that. He didn’t show initiative in literacy learning at all which is something we need to work on.

He misspelled a few words, such as spaghetti, and since we didn’t have much time during that session, I plan to note the words he misspelled, write it all down, teach it to him, and let him keep the handout. Other than that and his passivity to learn new things about literacy, he performed rather well.

As I said, my biggest challenge in teaching literacy is keeping his attention on the task and making him more excited about the lessons, to the point where he would want to learn more than the required lessons. Sadly, at the time, I didn’t know what to do in such situation, but he might be more excited if I could integrate games into the task, at the very least, so he wouldn’t get bored.

I haven’t noticed any change in my student’s learning nor have I noticed any change in my teaching yet, but last week’s session was only our third one-on-one session and we’re still progressing. I look forward to more teaching sessions to come to develop his literacy skills, him as a student and a person, and me as a teacher and “ate”.

 

Leave a Reply

