Uncategorized

Blog Entry 001: February 13, 2017

Last February 13, 2017, we went to San Vicente Elementary School to conduct our first one-on-one session with the student assigned to us. The community we are working with is a small yet simple one. Going to the school, we passed by some houses, a bridge, and a lot of small sari-sari stores and carinderias along the way. There were also a few chickens and stray dogs around the area where we walked.

The school we’re working with is a public elementary school. First, we entered the gate that led us to the waiting shed for the parents waiting for their children to be dismissed and for students waiting to be permitted to enter the school premises. From what we saw, the school has three buildings and a covered court. The classrooms were big enough for the students for each section and the student-teacher ratio was at a satisfactory level.

The first time we went to the school was for the site visit. We didn’t get to encounter much children then, but a few smiled at us and acknowledged our presence. The second time was when we conducted the mass assessment exam.

As you would expect of elementary students, they were noisy and very playful. Although I went to a different school, it reminded me a lot of how life was when I was in elementary. It seemed like a long time ago and I felt a happy seeing the students because it reminded me of how my friends and I were like, too. Most of the students were behave enough, but there were some who caused trouble and a few who noticeably copied answers from their classmates.

After checking the assessment exams, our professors determined the students who needed supplementary lessons. In other words, they determined the students whom we can help with our literary training service. We gathered the chosen students from each classroom and led them to the gym where the one-on-one session would be held.

The name of the student I was assigned to is Don Miguel. I had met him before during the mass assessment exam and my first impression of him was that he wasn’t that bad at the exam and that he was behave enough not to start or get involved in a ruckus while we were there.

He performed rather well in the first one-on-one session we had which was an assessment exam to understand where they’re having trouble with. He opened up to me when I asked him a few personal questions about his favorite game, how it is played, who he plays with, and the like. He listened to me while I was telling the story Ang Pamilya Ismid and answered the follow-up questions satisfactorily. Though he got confused with some of the letters, he correctly answered most of the alphabet questions wherein he was asked to identify, pronounce, and match the big letters to the small ones. He was also able to read and recognize the test that involved familiar logos of products or services.

There were times when he seemed either bored or distracted while we were conducting the session. We also weren’t able to finish the exam because he urgently needed to go to the comfort room. Everything considered, he performed nicely and was able to answer the questions properly.

From the results of what we were able to finish last meeting, I was able to get to know my student a bit more than our initial introduction. I also have an idea of what he is able and unable to do at the moment, which is helpful for me to match my pace of teaching.

This experience gave me an opportunity to interact more closely with a student which is very much like making a new friend, a much younger friend in this case. I felt happy while reading the story to him and I hope that I can help in his growth and literacy development.

Leave a Reply

